Sooooo What Now?

The semester is coming to an end and I couldn’t be happier. At least I thought I was happy until someone this past weekend asked me what year I was. I realized I only have one more month left of being able to say I am a junior in college, and pretty soon I will have to tell people I am a senior!! Panic mode!! TIME FLIES!!! It is crazy to think that my life has been planned out until this moment. I have always felt like everything I was doing in life was leading up to college. They would say you better do well in junior high because you want to be in the right classes in high school. Finally I got to high school and all anyone would talk about was college, and what courses they needed to be accepted into the college of their dreams. For me, I never really thought about college until around my junior year when my mom told me I basically had to go to community college because we couldn’t afford to send me away to a 4 year. I ended up committing to UNM for a soccer scholarship and I couldn’t have been more excited. That seems like just a year ago, and now I am a year from graduating. I have to say this is one of the scariest times of my life. It is the one moment that is not structured, not planned, and left in my own control as I am sure many of you are experiencing.

Everyone keeps reassuring me that I shouldn’t be afraid, and this is the best time of my life. Let me tell you, I still have NO idea what job I want to have when I am done. I am hoping my dream job finds me, but in the mean time I really want to travel. I watched my sister go straight from her undergrad to grad school and it seemed absolutely miserable. So I am going to learn from her rough experience and take a break after school before I decide if I’m going to go to grad school or straight to work. I know I still have a full year to graduate, but why not have something to look forward to. I’m going to start researching travel destination now, and try and narrow down a place I want to visit. I know that I do not really want to visit very populated cities like Rome and Paris, rather I want to see other coast of the world like in Ireland, New Zealand, Thailand, or Vietnam. Yes, I know those are all very different place, but there is just so much out there I want to see! It is embarrassing, but I do not even have a passport….

Below I will post some tips and blogs to planning destinations to travel. I’m going to spread on the advise I have been given a dozen times, your early twenties are your selfish years so fill them with new experiences and things that make you happy.

http://www.popsugar.com/smart-living/Best-Travel-Experiences-34953347#photo-34953347

http://www.ytravelblog.com/top-10-places-to-see-before-you-die/

http://www.paulathroughthelookingglass.com/hints-tips-for-travelling-thailand/

Possible destinations

Vietnam

 592277c1f31e428e02322c97e4a3195d

SONY DSC

New Zealand

(visit the Shire from Lord of The Rings)

yes I am a nerd.

8bfecad38b6e606cc5b0106e8e64b76f

Thailand

looks very rad

I want to ride an elephant

fed95a803f59e5611b3f3f1861e0c9fd

Leave a comment