Fashion on a Budget

It’s springtime, which means it’s time to pull out those spring clothing lines. This spring I have been seeing a lot of boyfriend jeans, and baggy ripped high wasted shorts. I have needed a good pair of jeans, so I decided to go out and find a pair. This lead me to almost tears. I’m being dramatic, but it was the most difficult thing! Jeans are so hard to find because everyone has very different body types. For example I play soccer and have to lift weights, so therefore I have some pretty muscular legs. Boyfriend jeans are meant to look pretty baggy, but when I tried them on they looked like skinny jeans! I know that I’m not fat, but I cannot tell you how frustrating it is to try on a pair of jeans that fit you perfectly around the waist, but struggle to get past my thighs! Most jeans that are sold at the stores are made for one body type, the body type that isn’t mine! I went to a boutique where I found a pair of 7 For All Man Kind Jeans that fit me well, I didn’t love them, but they fit. I looked at the price and it was $250 for a pair of jeans that I didn’t even love! Finally I decided I was going to try and make my own jeans because clearly this wasn’t working.

I headed to good will and looked for a pair of light looking jeans. You have to be open-minded because they will look better after some fixing! I brought in about 4 pairs of mom jeans to the dressing room. They were pretty high wasted, so it fit around my waste perfectly and they were baggy around my legs, just like boyfriend jeans. I bought two pairs to experiment with for $8 dollars a pair. When I got home I Pinterested DIY ripped jeans. I found an awesome link from Free People (I will post the link below). I did this with my first pair, and they turned out great!! The second pair I decided to try my own version and I got so many compliments! When I went to UCSB for spring break, my very fashionable friend asked me where I got my jeans. She was shocked to hear I made them myself.

As an undergrad in college I know that most people are livin on a major budget. I couldn’t afford to go spend $250 dollars on jeans. If you have a little patients and an open mind when going to the thrift store, you can really create something awesome. Another thing I liked about making my own jeans was that no one had the same pair. Whenever I go to my social medias, I will see the ten girls wearing the same outfit because they all shop at the same trending store. Making your own jeans it incredibly cheap, fun, and fashionable.

http://blog.freepeople.com/2013/07/video-distress-denim/?

Leave a Reply

