Spring Break: Family, Friends, and Errands

Spring break was just what I needed, but was such a tease!! I decided to go home this spring break, and avoid the classic spring break ragers. My freshman year of college I decided to have a true spring break in Lake Havasu, and while I will say it was an experience I will never forget, it wasn’t one that needed to be repeated. This spring break was needed for major relaxation and I had a few things that had to be done. One of the major reasons I kind of had to go home was to get a new license.

Let me tell you my life is all over the place. So first of all, my legal name is Taylor Jane Hinman. Before I was born my parents signed the birth certificate, thinking they were going to name me Taylor. When I was actually born they decided I looked more like a Katie, but decided never to go back and change it. Simple for them, HORRIBLE for me. It was so embarrassing having everyone know you as Katie, but then the role is called and the teacher calls Taylor. Then they will ask, “Oh is Katie your middle name?” and then I will have to proceed to explain, no Katie is absolutely nowhere in my legal name, in front of the whole class and they just look at me like a loon! As if I chose to make my name this way. Now I can’t stand the name Taylor (sorry if any of your names are Taylor) because once people in Jr. high and high school found out they would purposefully call me Taylor. Now that I am an adult, it’s probably my responsibility to legally change it, but is around 500 dollars and I have to go to court.

So my name is a disaster, but as I got older the problem continued. When I got my license the DMV got my birthday wrong, making me a year older. As a 16 year old this was the best news ever because I was 21 a year earlier. Well this actually turned out to be the worst thing ever. When I got to college and started traveling for soccer, they made my flight with the wrong legal name and a birthday that didn’t match my license! I had to go get a whole new ticket and barely made the flight. My high school friend group also planned a huge trip to Cabo, and when I went to go get a passport I realized I couldn’t because my ID didn’t match my birth certificate. Also my ID is vertical, so even if I hypothetically were to try and use my 21-year-old ID a year early, New Mexico doesn’t except vertical IDs.

It was horrible. I was always too scared to get it fixed because I let it go on for so long. I also stupidly read on Yahoo Answers how it was a criminal offense or something, so I was always a little scared. Finally this spring break I sucked it up, and went to fix my ID. They literally didn’t care at all! They just looked at my birth certificate, changed the numbers, and told me I would get a new ID in two weeks. All that worrying for nothing. Next one up is the name change….that is another monster I just do not want to deal with.

Getting my ID changed was awesome, but the highlight of my break would have to be going to UCSB to visit my friend, and going to the beach with my friends and sister. I also started to get better at surfing, I no longer plunge my face into the ground each time I try and stand up! Here are a few photos from my trip!

Santa Barbra

Processed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

San Clemente

Processed with VSCOcam with c3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c3 preset

Laguna

Processed with VSCOcam with k1 preset

Leave a Reply

