Creative Eats!

So far in my blog postings I have been talking about healthy eats, and ideas of places to go, and things to do to get out of the house and adventure. A main part of the problem with eating healthy as a college student is that it can get pretty expensive, it takes time, and it also can get pretty boring. When I started to eat healthy, I found that my food started to taste pretty bland and I was never excited for my meals. Then my research began. You wouldn’t believe the amount of suggestion I found on Pinterest! My first suggestion is to not look up meals when you are hungry! I typed in paleo dinners into the search and there were hundreds of results. One of the ones that stood out to me was one that had a variety of ways to cook chicken. Chicken is good, but can get old if you do not change up the way you eat it. After looking at the many options, one that looked great to me was the Paleo Chicken Stir Fry.

Once I looked at the ingredients needed I realized that I didn’t have half of them, and I could not afford to go out and buy spices for just one meal. So I improvised. Basically I took all the vegetables I had in the fridge and made an awesome combination for the stir-fry. I also had chicken broth, and soy sauce that I thought would be perfect for cooking the veggies in. I think that Pinterest is great for ideas, but it’s okay to use them just as an idea. Throw things together, and try new things. Here is how I came up with my own Paleo Stir Fry:

Whatever you have Veggie Paleo Chicken Stir-Fry

Ingredients

  • Any veggies you have
  • Chicken
  • Soy Sauce
  • Chicken Broth
  • Olive Oil
  • Garlic
  • (Pepper flakes optional)

To begin I threw in two frozen chicken breast in to oven at 400 degree for around 20-25minutes. While the chicken was cooking I started to make the veggies. I looked in the fridge and grabbed any veggies I could find. I grabbed an onion, mushrooms, zucchini, broccoli, and green beans. I cut them up and tossed them into a large zip lock bag. Then I added chicken broth, soy sauce, garlic, olive oil, and pepper flakes and shook the bag. After that I placed it in the fridge and let it sit for 30 minutes. Once the chicken was done I cut it into small pieces and set it aside. I then dumped the ingredients in the zip lock bag into a large pan. I let the veggies cooked for about 10 minutes at medium heat and then added the chicken, then let cook for another 10. It was so great, and it was just from the extra food I had in the fridge!

IMG_8557

IMG_8559

Leave a Reply

