Trip to Big Sur, California

Recently I went on a rad trip to Big Sur. Big Sur is in California right along the coast about 45 minutes from Santa Barbra on the way up to San Francisco. My friends planned the trip while we were all still at school so we could make sure we could get a camping spot because they fill up quickly. The fun thing about coming home is that all my friends want to do fun trips around California because they miss it just as much as I do. I never understood how much I loved the beach until I moved away from it. I think my favorite feeling in the world is coming home from the beach after being there all day. My skin is tanner, my hair is lighter, there is sand still on my feet, and I do not have a care in the world. Going away for school lets me have the experience of learning about somewhere new, but also gave me the opportunity to really appreciate where I come from. While I’m home, I make sure to do as many activities near the beach as I can.

Something I have always wanted to do was check out Big Sur because I have heard so many incredible things about it. Finally, we got a group of us together and made it happen. It was so easy, and I have put if off for so long. This goes back to my issues of going to go see the ski team. I thought that it was going to be so difficult and put it off for so long. It was not difficult at all! We planned and pulled it off in a matter of one weekend. I had been telling the ski team I would go for two years. So long story short, it’s not as hard as you think. The memories are worth it.

Over winter break a group of 12 of us woke up at 4 a.m., packed our cars, and headed up the coast. Honestly, I was asleep for the first half of the drive but woke up around the time we got to Santa Barbra. One of my friends goes to school at UCSB and she knew all the local restaurants. We ate at this delicious bagel shop and then we were on our way. Once we were about 20 minutes out of Santa Barbara the drive was beautiful, right along the water and surrounded by green. On the way up we drove past Hearst Castle where we saw Zebras on the side of the road! Hearst was a very rich man who built a beautiful castle that is now a historic attraction for tourist to see. One of the things he is known for is how he made his own personal zoo where he bought wild animals like bears, lions, tigers, bison, elk, zebra and even an elephant roamed free.

Once we got closer to Big Sur, we started to drive around narrow cliffs. It was kind of scary at first, but it was hard not to be in awe over how beautiful it was. I am used to being next to beaches with a ton of houses, palm trees, and people. This part of the coast was like being in a forest, but suddenly you look out and there is the ocean! It was an amazing change of scenery. Once we arrived at the campsite, we set up the tents and then went for a hike. We hiked along creeks and then ended up at a waterfall where we sat and had lunch. The next day we went to the more popular destinations, which were by the cliffs. I have been to many different beaches, but never have I seen a place like this. It is hard to describe in words so I will leave the rest in pictures. Enjoy!

IMG_7634

Processed with VSCOcam with k2 preset

IMG_7661

Processed with VSCOcam with s2 preset

IMG_7966

Processed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

IMG_7843

IMG_7846

IMG_7635

IMG_7755

IMG_8314

IMG_7787

Processed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

IMG_7802

IMG_7982

IMG_7981

Processed with VSCOcam with c3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f1 preset

IMG_7975

Leave a Reply

