Here we go.

Hello there!

My name is Katie Hinman and I am from Orange County, California. I am currently in Albuquerque, New Mexico playing soccer and studying interpersonal communications at UNM. Recently I went three weeks without dairy, sugar, or wheat and the change was incredible. I had the energy to stay awake in classes after practice, and even get some homework in! Usually the weekends are spent sleeping and eating (poorly), but now I find myself more energized and wanting to be more active. My whole attitude has changed, and because of this healthy lifestyle I have been able to do more with my life. Through this blog I hope to provide healthy meal plans and ways to stay active! With only a few years left of college I feel I owe it to myself to enjoy every moment, which was hard to do when I was constantly wasting it by sleeping!

I found that although I was playing soccer and kept a pretty active lifestyle, freshman 15 was still a thing. I took full advantage of my meal plan, and tried everything the dining hall had to offer. How could I resist endless pizza, bagels, french fries, and ice cream?

It was absurd how easy it was to gain weight, and not only did I not like the way I was looking, but I felt very lethargic. As I division 1 athlete, I was not eating the right way. Although we would run everyday at practice, I still felt like I was never getting in shape. Balancing soccer and school was already tiring, but the way I was eating made it near impossible. I had no social life because all I wanted to do was sleep.

It wasn’t until my sophomore year when I moved out of the dorms that I started to change the way I ate. I got to decide what foods to buy, and wasn’t constantly tempted by the food at the dining hall. I tried to go with the ultimate fad of going gluten free, but I ended up overloading my diet with gluten free substitutes that were filled with sugar, leaving me even lazier than before.

The beginning of this year, which is my junior year, I think I have finally figured out a system to feeling better and having more energy. I have tried to completely get rid of sugar, dairy, and wheat from my diet. Yes I know these sound very extreme, but there are so many healthy delicious meals that come from it. Basically what I am doing is eating the “paleo” diet but with a little twist, and some cheating here and there. Once the new year began (this January) I decided to full on give it a go. The first 30 days were a struggle, mostly because it was such a shock. Once I planned my meals, and had food prepared it got a lot easier! Now it’s a new month and I still want to continue!

Here is an example of an awesome meal with no sugar, wheat, or dairy!!

Spicy Avocado Tilapia with zucchini

Ingredients

1 4-ounce tilapia

Half avocado

1 medium Zucchini

1 Tbsp. Olive oil

½ tsp. Salt

½ tsp. pepper

¼ tsp. paprika

¼ tsp. cumin

½ tsp. chili powder

¼ tsp. garlic salt

½ tsp. red pepper flakes (more or less depending on how hot you like it!)

Untitled 2

Tilapia Instructions:

  • Mix salt, pepper, paprika, cumin, chili powder, garlic salt and red pepper flakes in small bowl
  • Rub the tilapia with olive oil and seasonings and place in the fridge for about 20 min.
  • Pre-heat oven to 375
  • If the fish is still frozen, leave in oven for about 20min, if it is thawed cook for 13min
  • Once the fish is out top with avocado, add the zucchini and enjoy!

Untitled 3

Baked Zucchini Instructions

  • Take the medium zucchini and cut it across 1 inch apart
  • Place the zucchini on a baking sheet, making sure they are not touching
  • Drizzle olive oil over the zucchini (and red pepper flaked for taste)
  • Pre-heat oven to 375, and let them cook for 8-10 min
Leave a Reply

